Trying again

Here we go again. I’m trying yet another way to get healthy. And I hope this time it will work. 

Sometime last month, I stepped on the scale at the gym, and saw something I haven’t seen before. A 5 on the scale.  I weighed 250 pounds. And something just clicked. At 230, 235, 240 I just thought ” it’s a little extra weight, I can get rid of it eventually,” but for some reason 250 was different.  It was a wake up call. 

I visited my doctor to ask what to do. I have a great doctor who tells it like it is, and he did.  He said I need to get my weight under control or it would start causing some major health issues. I’m not 20 years old anymore. 

He told me about something called the Ketogenic diet. He explained it as Atkins 2.0. It’s a high fat, moderate protein and ultra-low carb way of eating (I’m trying not to call it a diet, because it’s not temporary, it’s a new way for me to eat). The idea is to have your body use ketones instead of carbs and sugar as fuel. It’s a weird way to eat, adding fat to everything, even a tablespoon of coconut oil in my coffee in the morning. 

I’m in the middle of reading about Ketogenics in a book called Keto Clarity by Jimmy Moore. He has lost over 100 pounds eating this way, and has done tons of research on the subject. 

I have been eating this way for about 2 weeks. Haven’t had any significant weight loss yet, but I already feel better. I think this is for two reasons. The first is that I’m not eating garbage and I am paying attention to the fuel I’m putting in my body. The more important reason is that I’m doing something about it. The mental switch is the most important. I believe that I can make a change. I will be healthier. I will feel better. I will exercise. I will stay positive. 

That brings me to the reason for writing this blog. I don’t care who reads it. Thanks for reading if you are, but the main reason for writing it is to keep myself motivated.  

The first thing anyone will tell you about goal setting is to write it down.  Writing it down makes it real. Makes it a goal. Reminds you of your aim, and keeps you on track.  So I’ll be writing as much as I can to keep myself on track and keep updated. 

Move forward, get better, stay positive!
Dan 

Leave a Reply

